In the beginning…

My name is Cathy and this is my blog about meals and healthy eating. I have struggled with food for a long time, but with a busy family and work schedule it was difficult to stay on top of meals without resorting to fast food and take out every night.
While having a conversation with a good friend and trainer about exercise and eating, she commented, “You can’t out exercise a bad diet.” Somehow, this took me by surprise! With this new information in mind, I decided I needed to do something about the meals my family was eating. Thus began my journey into weekly meal planning.
Each week, armed with my computer, piles of recipes and my cup of coffee, I sit down to make a plan for meals for the week. I take into consideration evening obligations, dietary restrictions (two family members are gluten-free due to Celiacs Disease), and the season. I have discovered a few things over the years.
1. We save money at the grocery store because I buy only what I am planning on using each week.
2. We are less inclined to make poor choices when we know there is already something ready to cook at home.
3. I should have been using my Crock Pot years ago!
So now, I am sharing my ideas and plans. I’d love to share with you. Do you have special dietary restrictions, do you have busy soccer, piano schedules or evening meetings to work around? I will share what I plan each week, but I’d love to plan specialized meals for you!
This is what my husband and I are eating this week. I have conferences two nights and he has a couple of after work appointments. Things need to be easy!

Sunday: Tomato Chicken Pasta

Monday: Baked Chicken Wings, Asian Salad, Fries

Tuesday: Cabbage and Sausage – This is an adaptation of a recipe my mom cooked when we were little. I am sure it was great on the budget! Preheat oven to 425. Quarter cabbage and cut out the core. Place cabbage in 9 x 13 glass pan. Cut one package of Kielbasa into 1/2 inch slices and sprinkle over the cabbage. Bake for about 30 minutes or until sausage is browned. We always serve this with some unsweetened applesauce.

Wednesday Conference Night: Crockpot Chicken Tortilla Soup

This is a super simple crockpot recipe where all I have to do is toss everything in as I am making my shake in morning. It will be awesome to come home to a delicious soup after a 14 hour day!

Thursday Conference Night: Honey Garlic Chicken Crockpot

I’ll cook up some brown rice to serve with this. I truly love crockpot meals that don’t require any prep!

Eat well…..

Leave a Reply

